When the ability resolves, you try to sacrifice [card]Dark Depths[/card], and if you do you get a Marit Lage. Vesuva also acts as a way to disrupt Dark Depths, especially when you snipe an early Urborg. Be careful, though, because [card]Pithing Needle[/card] stops cards with a specific name and [card]Thespian’s Stage[/card] can change its name! The combo adds a little more complexity than just going manual. [card]Blood Moon[/card] doesn’t remove the ice counters from existing [card]Dark Depths[/card], and new [card]Dark Depths[/card] still come into play with ice counters on them. [card]Blood Moon[/card] turns [card]Dark Depths[/card] into a [card]Mountain[/card]. In reality Hexmage is more vulnerable to interaction because using Stifle or a similar effect on the Hexmage’s activated ability completely shuts down the combo. It’s always good to start by reading the card. Marit Lage can ignore [card]Murderous Cut[/card] and deathtouch. Avatar. Token. 9/25/2006: If you don’t choose a land on the battlefield, Vesuva enters the battlefield untapped as itself. When the ability resolves you try to sacrifice your Stage copy, and if you do you get a Marit Lage. Destroying [card]Dark Depths[/card] while its sacrifice trigger is on the stack will ensure that the player can’t sacrifice their [card]Dark Depths[/card] since they won’t control it when the trigger resolves. Notably, Marit Lage doesn’t have to worry about [card]The Tabernacle at Pendrell Vale[/card]. Snow. Dandân, the original “scary beast under the water. An early [card]Pithing Needle[/card] naming “Thespian’s Stage” is usually a good tactic to avoid the combo. Finally, Chandra’s Ignition is a great way to close games where multiple opponents are alive with low life; Multani, Yavimaya’s Avatar can be used to great effect with Ignition since we can easily get him back to the battlefield, but even Ulvenwald Hydra will do the trick. You'll be redirected to Twitch for this. If you do, [get Marit Lage].” If you’re going manual, once the last counter is removed, this ability triggers and goes on the stack. Customers who bought this item also bought. Thespian's Stage is already on the field, so it doesn't worry about the ETB effect of coming into play with counters. TappedOut.js Blog Widget. The Spells. If you have a [card]Thespian’s Stage[/card] and a [card]Dark Depths[/card] on the battlefield you activate Stage, targeting Depths (this is an activated ability that can be responded to). 8/7/2020: The last ability of Dark Depths is a state trigger. We’re going to feed the ramp ability and burn our opponents … Magic The Gathering - Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth (248/269) - Magic 2015 5.0 out of 5 stars 22. As soon as it happens, the game will not let another player take actions until they’ve chosen one copy to get rid of. Destroying the Stage in response to its activation will stop the player from getting a Marit Lage, but they will keep their [card]Dark Depths[/card]. In this case, it will enter as if it were a Dark Depths , which means Dark Depths' own replacement effect putting 10 ice counters on it … It won’t trigger again while the ability is on the stack, but if the ability is countered and Dark Depths is still on the battlefield with … by dreddz, Lord Windgrace Thanks for reading. This does actually happen in Legacy, although it is usually the product of a very stalled board. Like other Gods, she is not a creature unless your devotion is 7 or more. Blood Moon or Magus of the Moon), then Vesuva wouldn't be able to copy anything at all under the new rules. $26.81. Shop with confidence on eBay! This isn’t a triggered ability. Normally, you can’t use this land to help pay for your spells, as it does not produce mana. You still get the token. This is called the “Legend Rule”. If you play a Vesuva and have it come in as a copy of [card]Dark Depths[/card], then the Vesuva will come into play with 10 ice counters as well (regardless of how many are currently on the one on the battlefield). Most of our previous discussion from “going manual” still applies. by isaacs88, Karador Lands Control Sacrifice trigger. The best practice is to let Thespian Stage’s activated ability resolve, transforming it into a [card]Dark Depths[/card], and then [card]Wasteland[/card] the Thespian Stage-Dark Depths while its sacrifice trigger is on the stack. It doesn’t change supertypes or names, so [card]Dark Depths[/card] becomes a Legendary Snow Land – [card]Mountain[/card] with the name “Dark Depths”.